37th recipient of livelihood bicycle: ‘…. My father taught me… if I must lie, it should equal to the amount of extra salt in a meal; just enough to not leave a bad taste nor ruin the dish.’

37 Dinanath Sahu Gupta Onions Patatoes

37th recipient of livelihood bicycle: ‘…. My father taught me… if I must lie, it should equal to the amount of extra salt in a meal; just enough to not leave a bad taste nor ruin the dish.’

Name: Dina Nath Sahu. (age 32)

Onions and Potatoes vendor. (He has been carrying them on his head and shoulders, until now. Hereafter, he will carry them on the bicycle.)

Dina Nath is from Allahabad, UP. He arrived in Bombay around 7 years ago. He has two brothers. He lives in his own, without any support from his brothers or parents. He supports his pat=rents, and his wife and child. He has a son who is around 8 years and goes to school. He resides at Nalasopara. He is educated till the 5th Std., he could not study beyond due to his family’s financial circumstances.

I asked him which has been the most challenging time he has ever faced?;
He replied, ‘Since we are born in this world, we have to live and bear the problems and difficulties that come with the life given to us. That is the way of the world, and God. Both my brothers betrayed my parents and our family. My elder brother cheated his younger brother of his earnings, (we had a joint family business of selling Bhel and pani puri etc); and my middle brother cheated me of my share in our earnings. Both my elder brothers did not spare even my parents, so what am I for them?
But I do not stress about what both my brothers did to us. I have learnt one thing in life, God has sent us to this world and if our hands, legs, mind, are able, and if we are willing to work hard, success will kiss our hands and feet.
Hard work, good behavior, good manners, honesty, trust, faith, are things that will help us become successful in anything we do, such a person will not go hungry. A person who will spend his time in any kind of ‘nasha’, like drugs, alcohol, etc, he will definitely fail.’

I asked him if he can define God to me; His reply, ‘I believe in God, because He is the only one, there is no one else for any of us. However hard my life be in the day, God provides me a meal by night and I am grateful to Him for that. Irrespective of how much we earn and have, nothing will leave with us when we die. The only thing we can take forward is our love, and our good deeds.’

I felt he has be given these values at home, so I asked him if there is something his mother, father, taught him that he will pass on to his kids;
His reply, ‘…. My father taught me never to steal, never to lie. And if I must lie, it should equal to the amount of extra salt in a meal, just enough to not leave a bad taste or ruin the dish. Be honest and do not betray anyone’s trust. ’ As he said that, about equating a white lie to being the right amount of salt in our meal, I realized what he must have really meant is that one should not lie to such an extent that it ruins someone’s reputation and or your own.

A bicycle will save him time in travelling and he can execute more deliveries and thus better his livelihood and help his family improve their lives, he told me.

Thank you to Satya H and Shashi C. Sai Seva, for donating a new bike to the cigarette seller Rajendra. Rajendra’s old bike we donated to Dina Nath.

Thank you Kohinoor Cycles for the good service.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/309043432570135/
https://bicycleangels.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

