31st recipient of livelihood bicycle – ‘ … as a gardener, I have to care for the flowers and plants, I have to give them water, manure, sunshine, medicines, at the right time and in the correct amounts.’

31st recipient of livelihood bicycle – ‘ … as a gardener, I have to care for the flowers and plants, I have to give them water, manure, sunshine, medicines, at the right time and in the correct amounts.’ 

As he said this, I thought to myself… that is exactly how….

Name: Premchand Maurya.
Profession; Malee (gardener) Age 50.
Village – Jaunpaur, UP.

Premchand arrived in Mumbai to earn a livelihood as his parents were unable to support him in the village, they were farmers. He has 3 children, one daughter is married, the other is in college, his son is in school; they live in the village.

Premchand has been working as a gardener all his life. Ever since he was a child. He was working at actor Salman Khan’s building for over two decades, but when he fell ill in his village and was in bed for over 3 months due to Malaria and some other complications, he lost that job. Now he works at an Office Tower at Lower Parel as a gardener and sometimes needs a bike to carry his tools on the carrier, and riding a bike to work will save him time and money, he says.

He mentioned in the past two decades 3 bicycles of his were stolen, even though he uses chains and locks always to secure them. I realized, once again, how vulnerable they are, those who do not live in spaces guarded by security services and CCTV’s.

I asked Premchand, what is his work, gardening, really all about?;
He replied, as a gardener he has to care for the flowers and plants giving them timely water, manure, sunshine, medicines, at the right time and in right amounts….
As he said this, I thought to myself, ‘Hmmmm, now that is exactly what our parents, our elder brother and sister, family, true friends, do for us, … care for us… and give us the right values at the right time… and their valuable companionship too, just like those plants and flowers have Premchand’s.’

Thank you to Changez and Shyam Keswani for donating a new cycle to Das Florist; Das gave us his old bicycle in exchange which we donated to Malee Premchand.

(A very interesting thing happened after Premchand took the old bike. The next day, he called me and apologetically told me the bike is not in good condition, and if I give such bad condition old bikes to people my good reputation will get spoilt! I laughed at his frankness and honesty, and asked him what is wrong with the old bike, and on learning it has some minor issues and an old tyre, I paid for the repair and servicing of the same, and gave him some new spares to use on his old bike, new spares that my cyclist pal Nicolas had donated to us. So thank you to my cyclist pal Nicolas Van C., for the new spares he gave us when he donated to us his hand painted ‘super express’ beauty.)

Thank you to Kohinoor Cycles/Siddharth Vora for the good service.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/309043432570135/
https://bicycleangels.wordpress.com/

malee premchand

 

Leave a Reply

